The Public Humanities Award

Given annually by Illinois Humanities since 1984, the Public Humanities Award luncheon recognizes individuals and organizations that have made significant contributions to the civic and cultural life of the state through the humanities.

Thank you for helping us as we honored Howard Tullman, CEO of 1871, the startup incubator for technologists and entrepreneurs, for fostering a vibrant relationship between the humanities and business through his commitment to diversifying the technology community, encouraging art as a vantage point for expression and digital innovation, and developing an entrepreneurial culture that supports the public good. [Full bio].

Event Co-Chairs
Joel F. Henning
Murray S. Peretz
Richard S. Price
Marie Tillman
Thursday, May 14, 2015
The Palmer House Hilton
Grand and State Ballrooms
17 East Monroe Street, Chicago
Doors/Registration: 11 AM
Lunch: Noon 

!!!Thank You!!!

Illinois Humanities wishes to thank all those who attended and participated in honoring Howard Tullman with the 2015 Public Humanities Award

View photos from the event.
Read Howard's remarks given at the luncheon.
Read Angel's remarks given at the awards ceremony.

It's not too late to show your support to Howard and Illinois Humanities! Give a donation today.

For information about The Public Humanities Award, please call Liesl Pereira, Illinois Humanities Director of Development, at 312.422.5584 or contact by email at


All proceeds from the luncheon will support the programs of the Illinois Humanities Council and its mission to strengthen society by fueling inquiry and conversation about the ideas and works that shape our culture.